

OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION

REVISED MINUTES OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL REVISION AND UPDATING COMMITTEE

FOR THE MEETING HELD THURSDAY, JUNE 12, 2014

Call to Order:

Chair Dennis Mulvihill called the meeting of the Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee to order at 9:45 a.m.

Members Present:

A quorum was present with Chair Mulvihill, Vice-chair Kurfess and committee members Abaray, Asher, Batchelder, Curtin, Obhof, Readler, Sawyer, and Wagoner in attendance.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the May 8, 2014 meeting of the committee were reviewed and approved.

Discussion:

The amended minutes from the April 10, 2014 meeting, as requested by Vice-chair Kurfess at the May 8, 2014 meeting, were read and approved without objection.

The committee discussed the Legislative Service Commission draft joint resolution intended to reduce the geographic requirement for initiated statutes from 44 to 22 counties and to create a five-year time period in which initiated statutes would require a two-thirds vote by the legislature to modify. The committee also considered adjusting the supplemental petition requirements for initiated statutes, clarifying language in lines 1, 21, and 127 of the draft, as well as adding an additional requirement that legislative changes must "further the purpose" of initiated statutes.

Senior Policy Advisor Steven H. Steinglass presented on the initiated statute process and how proposed revisions by the committee compared to procedures in other states.

The committee discussed whether to send individual recommendations to the full Commission or whether it would be better to send a comprehensive package of recommendations.

Adjournment:

With no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

Approval:

The minutes of the June 12, 2014 meeting of the Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee were approved at the July 10, 2014 meeting of the committee.

/s/ Dennis P. Mulvihill Dennis P. Mulvihill, Chair

<u>/s/ Charles F. Kurfess</u> Charles F. Kurfess, Vice-chair